The Best Audiobooks Currently on Scribd

PicMonkey Collage-5.jpg

I recently joined Scribd – an app that allows you to listen to unlimited audiobooks and read unlimited ebooks for a set monthly price. Like with anything else my instant instinct since signing up has been to troll their catalogues for books that spark my interest, in particular audiobooks because it’s a massive saving listening this way. As an avid audiobook listener, however, where was I to start – their selection seems endless. So apart from searching the app I’ve been asking on Twitter for recommendations, and using google to look for other Scribd users favourite audiobooks. During this proccess it occured to me that if you are looking for something, chances are, someone else is too. And since I’m asking for your help I thought perhaps I could also lend a hand of my own. Which brings us to this blog post where I’m going to share my selection of the best audiobooks currently available on Scribd (this may vary depending on the country you’re listening in). Most of these I have already listened to either prior to downloading Scribd or since I installed the app but a few are books I’m incredibly excited to listen to myself in the coming weeks and months. I hope you find some recommendations from this list and do let me know what audiobooks on Scribd you would recommend.

Binti by Nnedi Okorafor – I’ve already written a dedicated review to this book on my blog, which you can read here, so I’ll keep it brief. This is the first novella in an addictive science fiction trilogy that packs a punch despite its size. Even if you’re hesitant to dive into the sci-fi genre I’d urge you to give this one a listen.

Persuasion by Jane Austen – I’ve selected this Austen novel as it’s the only one I’ve listened to on audiobook, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you’re an Austen fan, or hold the potential to become one, however, there are quite a few of her novels available on Scribd to listen to.

Celtic Mythology by Philip Freeman – This is one of my next listens. I’ve been meaning to read/listen to this collection for quite some time and was incredibly excited to see it was available on Scribd. Freeman often writes about mythology including that of the ancient Greeks, my main squeeze, as well as translated ancient latin texts but this volume focuses on the exciting world of Celtic folklore.

The Dark Mirror by Juliet Marillier – Juliet Marillier is one of my all-time favourite authors. She writes the most absolutely exquisite fantasy novels you will ever read. This is not one I’ve read yet but was unsurprisingly ecstatic to see that it was available.

All Systems Red by Martha Wells – The first audiobook I listened to on Scribd and I don’t regret it (I’m currently listening to book two). Another science-fiction novella series but this one focuses on an introverted android trying to avoid human contact at all cost.

Because We Say So by Noam Chomsky – OK, I’ll admit, I found this one a little dense listening but nonetheless fascinating and I couldn’t make this list without including some political non-fiction. Chomsky always makes for thought-provoking reading.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray – Libba Bray is another one of my favourite authors, her historical fantasy series following the young Gemma Doyle, in particular, holds a special place in my heart. This book, on the other hand, is a witty, feminist reinterpretation of Lord of the Flies.

Soulless by Gail Carriger – The hilarious, tongue in cheek adventures of a willful 18th-century high society lady in a London full of vampires and werewolves; what more could you want?

Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward – This is a gorgeous novel that I first experience on audiobook and focuses in on the days leading up to hurricane Katrina in Mississipi. It follows a young girl who discovers she’s pregnant whilst her family try to prepare for the impending weather warning and draws on the myth of Jason and Medea.

Eragon by Christopher Paulini – One of my top five favourite books of all time. I’m ready to re-listen to this one now for the hundredth time.

The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson – Another longtime favourite, this book partially inspired J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series! It is a children’s fantasy novel following an orphaned boy from a magical world and will utterly capture your imagination regardless of your age.

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler – I’m reading this one myself for my book club in November and December and I can’t wait. It is one of the first ever science fiction novels written by a black woman in English and has an exceptional reputation.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan Maguire – I’ve had the fortune of being able to continue on with this series since downloading the Scribd app with book two. Book one, however, centres on a boarding school for children who were taken to different fairy realms before being unceremoniously returned to the mortal world and are finding it difficult to adjust. Clever right!

Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente – Valente is an author I’ve heard nothing but good things about and have been meaning to read for myself. Where better to start than with a novel inspired by Russian folklore?

The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel – Historical fiction set in the prehistoric age of homo-neanderthal? Give it to me now!

One thought on “The Best Audiobooks Currently on Scribd

  1. Thanks for your list, as you say knowing where to start is the hardest! A few titles there I quite fancy thank you. Binti was exceptional and incredibly beautifully read, the only problem now being is I don’t want to read books 2 and 3, I want to listen to them and they aren’t out (yet?).
    Today’s download (non fiction) that I am seriously excited to listen to is My Own Devices: Stories from the Road on Music, Science and Senseless Love by Dessa.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment